Edit Mode

Prior to inventing the far superior Student Preview Mode, Blackboard created the Edit Mode option to allow you to view your course site like a student. Edit Mode is a quick and easy way to confirm how items in your course menu and content areas (e.g., Syllabus, Course Library, Assignments) display to your students. The nuisance of using Edit Mode, however, is that it is easy to forget when you have turned it off which prevents you from seeing all of the instructor features in your site.

  • When Edit Mode is ON this allows you full functionality in that particular course site.
  • When Edit Mode is OFF this will only allow you to interact with your course on a student level. Certain limitations apply with this tool, however, so we recommend using Student Preview Mode for a full student experience of your site.

How to turn on/off Edit Mode:

  1. Navigate to your course site in Blackboard.
  2. From any page on your course, press the ON or OFF button in the upper-right corner of the window to toggle Edit Mode:
  • 601
  • 12-Feb-2016
  • 1240 Views